Prime Minister's Industry 4.0 Taskforce

Cooperation agreement with Plattform Industrie 4.0 (Germany)

On 25th April 2017 the Prime Minister's Industry 4.0 Taskforce signed a cooperation agreement with Plattform Industrie 4.0. This agreement will further cement cooperation and information sharing between our two countries in the area of Industry 4.0, including the development of global Industry 4.0 standards.

The agreement fulfils a recommendation by the Australia-Germany Advisory Group to increase collaboration on digital transformation. The agreement also forms part of the broader cooperation between Australia and Germany on science and innovation.

Plattform Industrie 4.0 and the Taskforce have agreed to cooperate across five work streams, representing key challenges in the transition to Industry 4.0: reference architectures, standards and norms; support for small and medium sized enterprises (SMEs); industrie 4.0 testbeds; security of networked systems and; work, education and training.

This cooperative work will be supported by government, industry, and standards and research organisations within both countries, with the Advanced Manufacturing Growth Centre coordinating work in Australia.

Left to right: Patricia (Trish) White, Engineers Australia board member; Henning Banthien, Plattform Industrie 4.0 Secretary General; German Minister for Economic Affairs and Energy Brigitte Zypries; HE Lynette Wood, Australian Ambassador to Germany; Jeff Connolly, Chair of the Prime Minister’s Industry 4.0 Taskforce; Gavin Smith, President of Robert Bosch (Australia) Pty. Ltd


The Prime Minister's Taskforce was formed following the release of the report of the Australia-Germany Advisory Group in November 2015. The Australia-Germany Advisory Group recommended collaboration between government and industry in both countries on Industry 4.0, including initiating a collaborative approach to the development of global Industry 4.0 standards.

The Taskforce supports the objectives of the National Science and Innovation Agenda including adoption of international standards.

Following a delegation to Hannover Fair in Germany, the world’s largest industrial fair, where members of the Taskforce met with Germany’s Plattform Industrie 4.0, the Taskforce agreed to establish a structure in line with Germany’s priority Working Group areas. Through this structure the Taskforce will be able to work to progress the key action items in the cooperation agreement.


  • Mr Jeff Connolly (Chair) – Chair and CEO of Siemens Australia and New Zealand
  • Mr Bruce McKinnon – Vice President and Head of Service and Support of SAP Australia and New Zealand
  • Dr Jens Goennemann – CEO of AMGC Ltd (the Advanced Manufacturing Growth Centre)
  • Dr Bronwyn Evans – CEO of Standards Australia and Chair of MTP Connect (the Medical Technologies and Pharmaceuticals Growth Centre)
  • Dr Keith McLean – Manufacturing Director at CSIRO
  • Mr Gavin Smith – President of Bosch Australia
  • Professor Aleksandar Subic – Deputy Vice-Chancellor (R&D) at Swinburne University of Technology
  • Mr John Pollaers – Chairman of the Australian Advanced Manufacturing Council
  • Ms Jennifer Westacott – CEO of the Business Council of Australia
  • Mr Ron Watts - COO of Engineers Australia

Working groups

The Taskforce has established four working groups. The groups are, engaging with their counterpart in Plattform Industrie 4.0 to progress the key action items in the cooperation agreement.

The working groups are:

  • Reference architectures, standards and norms (led by Dr Bronwyn Evans)
  • Research and innovation (led by Dr Keith McLean)
  • Security of networked systems (led by Mr Gavin Smith)
  • Work, education and training (led by Mr Bruce McKinnon)

These working groups are underpinned by a work stream focused on developing an Australian network of Industry 4.0 ‘Test Laboratories’ accessible by Australian companies. This working group is led by Professor Aleksander Subic.



The department is supporting the Prime Minister’s Industry 4.0 Taskforce. Please contact

Share this Page