Annex C - Sources of Standards

There are many different sources of standards in use throughout the world. Standards may be developed by international organisations, regional groupings, nation states and industry. When considering which standard to use, officers should preference those that are in wide circulation and use. The list below highlights the general hierarchal order in which preference should be given for use in Australian policy settings.

International standards

International standards are standards that have been developed by international organisations for consideration and use worldwide. Their purpose is to facilitate free and fair global trade and promote access to markets.

e.g. ISO10002:2014 focuses on enhancing customer satisfaction

Regional standards

Regional standards are standards that have been developed in a specific geopolitical region. They are often used to promote common policies and facilitate trade in a region. The most prominent example of regional standards are European standards.

e.g. CSN EN 54 provides performance criteria for fire detectors

National standards

National standards are standards that have been prepared, adopted and approved by a national standards body or another body accredited to produce national standards. Examples of national standards bodies include: Standards Australia, Standards New Zealand, and the British Standards Institution

e.g. AS/NZS ISO 8124.1:2002 specifies general safety requirements for children’s toys

Industry standards

Industry standards are standards that have been created by industry groups or professional associations which reflect the minimum requirements that must be met by certain products, services or processes.

e.g. Meat Standards Australia is an industry grading for beef and lamb products

Other standards

There are two other sources of standards. These are government-developed standards and private standards. In some instances it may be preferable for the government or private organisations to develop their own standards. These type of standards are prominent in fields including vehicle design, food, agriculture and clothing.

e.g. Australian design rules for vehicle safety

Share this Page