European Free Trade Area-Australia Mutual Recognition Agreement

The Mutual Recognition Agreement on Conformity Assessment between the European Free Trade Area (Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein) and Australia (EFTA MRA) was signed on 29 April 1999 and came into force on 1 July 2000. This MRA extends the application of the European Community-Australia Mutual Recognition Agreement (EC-MRA) to all countries which form the European Economic Area (EEA).

The Agreement, in conjunction with the EC-MRA, ensures that uniform conformity assessment provisions apply to all regulated products covered by the MRA and facilitates free movement of Australian goods between all EEA countries.  It enables conformity assessment (testing, inspection and certification) of products intended for sale in Norway, Iceland and Liechtenstein to be undertaken in Australia prior to export. 

The MRA covers the following regulated sectors:

  • automotive products    
  • electromagnetic compatibility (EMC)
  • low voltage electrical equipment          
  • telecommunications terminal equipment              
  • machinery
  • medical devices
  • pharmaceuticals - Good Manufacturing Practice (GMP)            
  • pressure equipment

Share this Page