Resources 2030 Taskforce

A new Resources 2030 Taskforce has been set up to examine and make recommendations on how to ensure Australia’s resource sector remains globally competitive and sustainable.

The Minister for Resources and Northern Australia Matt Canavan announced the taskforce in a speech at the National Press Club on 28 March 2018.

The Minister emphasised that Australia needs to develop new ways of working, new ideas and new technologies so our resources sector can seize the opportunities inherent in global challenges.

The taskforce will focus on policy areas that can attract investment, contribute to regional economic progress, build community support, simplify business, find new minerals, and ensure that Australia gets best use of its mineral resources before they are exported.

It will identify bold, attainable reforms to ensure the resource sector’s competitiveness and sustainability to 2030 and will present its findings to the Minister by the end of August 2018.

The Australian Government will use the proposals put forward by the taskforce as a basis to develop a National Resources Statement by late 2018.

The Resources 2030 Taskforce members are:

  • Mr Andrew Cripps, former Queensland Minister for Natural Resources (Chair)
  • Mr Mike Henry, President Operations, Minerals Australia, BHP
  • Ms Joyce McCulloch, Mayor, Mount Isa City Council
  • Dr Chris Pigram, former CEO of Geoscience Australia
  • Mr Will Robinson, Managing Director, Encounter Resources Limited
  • Ms Erica Smyth AC, Chair, NOPSEMA Advisory Board
  • Mr Paul Flynn, CEO and Managing Director, Whitehaven Coal
  • Prof. Marcia Langton, Foundation Chair, Australian Indigenous Studies, Faculty of Medicine, University of Melbourne
  • Ms Adrienne Rourke, General Manager, Resource Industry Network 
  • Prof. Stephen Smith, Professor of International Law, University of Western Australian

More information

Taskforce'sTerms of Reference

Minister’s speech to the National Press Club—28 March 2018

Minister’s media release announcing the taskforce—28 March 2018

Minister’s media release welcoming first taskforce meeting—16 April 2018

Minister's media release on Prof. Stephen Smith's taskforce appointment—31 May 2018  

Keep in touch or contact us

Keep up-to-date with Resources on Twitter

Email the Taskforce Secretariat:

Share this Page