Acts and regulations

The Australian Government is responsible for monitoring and managing radioactive materials in the departments and agencies under its control.

The use, transport and disposal of radioactive materials by Australian Government bodies are regulated by the Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency (ARPANSA).

State legislation

The states and territories are responsible for monitoring and managing the use, transport and disposal of radioactive materials under their control in accordance with state and territory acts and regulations.

These acts and regulations are administered by state and territory radiation safety authorities.

State Legislation
ACT Radiation Protection Act 2006
Radiation Protection Regulation 2007
NSW Radiation Control Act 1990
Radiation Control Regulation 2003
NT Radiation Protection Act
Radiation Protection Regulations (No 20 of 2007)
QLD Radiation Safety Act 1999
Radiation Safety Regulation 2010
Radiation Safety (Radiation Safety Standards) Notice 2010
SA Radiation Protection and Control Act 1982
Radiation Protection and Control (Ionising Radiation) Regulations 2000
Radiation Protection and Control (Transport of Radioactive Substances) Regulations 2003
Tas Radiation Protection Act 2005
Radiation Protection Regulations 2006
Vic Radiation Act 2005
Radiation Regulations 2007
WA Radiation Safety Act 1975
Radiation Safety (General) Regulations 1983
Radiation Safety (Qualifications) Regulations 1980
Radiation Safety (Transport of Radioactive Substances) Regulations 2002

More information

For more information about radiation safety, see Radiation safety.

Share this Page