International treaties

About Australia’s involvement with international treaties for radiation safety

Australia is an active participant in many international organisations and committees which have been set up to consider the safe use and management of nuclear and radioactive materials.

These organisations draft standards, regulations, and codes of practice, and treaties and conventions governing the safe use and management of nuclear and radioactive materials.

International organisations

Australia is a member of the following organisations:

  • International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
    The International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) serves as the world's central inter-governmental forum for scientific and technical co-operation in the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology, including the management of radioactive waste. It was established under the United Nations in 1957, but operates as an autonomous organisation. As at April 2012, it has one hundred and fifty-four Member States.
  • Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA)
    The Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) is a specialised agency of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). The OECD is an inter-governmental organisation of industrialised nations.
  • International Commission on Radiological Protection (ICRP)
    The International Commission on Radiological Protection (ICRP) is an independent advisory body which provides recommendations that form the basis of the international system of radiological protection. It was founded in 1928. Australian scientists have served and continue to serve on ICRP committees, and Australia follows ICRP standards.

International conventions and treaties

Australia is a party to a number of significant international conventions and treaties:

More information

For more information about radiation safety, see Radiation safety.

Share this Page