Montara Commission of Inquiry

On 18 September 2013, the Department of Industry portfolio was established. Content on this page relates to the former Resources Energy and Tourism portfolio. Some content may not be current and is provided for historical purposes only.

About the Montara oil spill

The Montara oil spill was an oil and gas leak that took place in the Montara oil field in the Timor Sea, off the northern coast of Western Australia. The leak was the result of a wellhead accident that occurred on an offshore drilling platform owned by PTT Exploration and Production (PTTEP) Australasia on 21 August 2009. The discharge of oil and gas was stopped on 3 November 2009.

About the Montara commission of inquiry

On 5 November 2009, the then Hon Martin Ferguson AM MP, Minister for Resources and Energy, announced a commission of inquiry into the uncontrolled release of oil and gas from the Montara Wellhead Platform in the Timor Sea.

The commission of inquiry was established under Part 9.10A of the Offshore Petroleum and Greenhouse Gas Storage Act 2006, and had nearly all the powers of a Royal Commission.

The Commissioner David Borthwick AO PSM provided the Montara Commission of Inquiry Report to Minister Ferguson on 17 June 2010.

The Australian Government released the Report of the Montara Commission of Inquiry and a draft Government response on 24 November 2010.

Montara Inquiry Reports

Related Reports

Full details of this report and the Australian Government's response, including the submissions process, can be found in the pages below.

Related pages

Share this Page