Offshore Petroleum Safety Regulation Inquiry and Operational Reviews of NOPSA

The Offshore Petroleum Safety Inquiry was a joint independent inquiry into the effectiveness of regulation for upstream petroleum operations, announced by the Commonwealth and Western Australian Governments on 9 January 2009.

The Terms of Reference for the inquiry included a focus on the 3 June 2008 gas pipeline rupture at the Apache Energy Ltd operated facilities on Varanus Island.

The final reports on the offshore petroleum safety regulatory regime were released at the 9th Meeting of the Ministerial Council on Mineral and Petroleum Resources (MCMPR) in Darwin on 9 July 2009..

The Better Practice and the Effectiveness of NOPSA and Marine Issues reports (see Related documents) investigated the role of the National Offshore Petroleum Safety Authority (NOPSA), and the regulatory interface between NOPSA and the Australian Maritime Safety Authority (AMSA). The inquiry was conducted by an expert panel comprising Mr Kym Bills, then Executive Director of the Australian Transport Safety Bureau, and Mr David Agostini, an oil and gas industry consultant, formerly of Woodside Petroleum.

On 28 May 2010, the former minister released, for consultation, the draft Government Response to the inquiry reports, which included a response to the 2008 Review of NOPSA Operational Activities (see Related documents). The consultation process closed on 25 June 2010. The Government’s Final Response to the Reports (see Related documents) was released on 23 September 2010.

Related documents

Related pages

More information

For more information about offshore petroleum safety, see Offshore petroleum safety.

Share this Page